PDA

View Full Version : Where can i get a touch in the u.s.?



iwannatouch
2010-06-08, 07:01
Someone posted that the Touch is available from "many other retailers" besides Logitech and Amazon. Would someone please tell me who these other retailers are? I don't wish to buy it from a private seller because I want the protection of Logitech's warranty. I'm hoping to find it for less than full list price (can't remember when I paid MLP for electronics). Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

JJZolx
2010-06-08, 07:21
I think that's about it. If you want to see something interesting, do a Google search on Logitech's part number for the Touch:

930-000074

You'll find some links to online retailers, but except for Amazon they either say 'coming soon', 'no longer available', 'discontinued', or else the product page has been completely removed from the web site.

It's looking more and more each day like the Touch isn't a real Logitech product, or else it is/was a very short-lived one. I hope a lot of people who have bought the Touch don't get burned when Logitech comes out with a newer version with more memory or else a completely redesigned Squeezebox that addresses some of the other shortcomings of the Touch.

Tony T
2010-06-08, 07:28
What shortcommings are you referring to?
Also, if what you say had even a hint of truth to it, then the Touch would not be selling for List price.

Tony T
2010-06-08, 07:31
I'm hoping to find it for less than full list price (can't remember when I paid MLP for electronics). Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Logitech runs promo discount codes. Search these forums. (I saved 25% when I bought a few battery packs for the SB Radio).

iwannatouch
2010-06-08, 08:22
With all due respect Tony, one only has to take an honest look at the many threads in this forum to realize that quite a few people are experiencing a range of problems with the Touch, and that it is indeed "coming up short" in ways that are important to consumers.

Regarding Logitech coupons, I have had a Google alert in place for several weeks that has yielded a few coupons that are not item specific, i.e., 10% or 15% off any Logitech product. In every instance, these coupons have been rejected when trying to purchase a Touch. Specifically, the discount is applied to another item I place in the shopping cart, but not the Touch. It seems like if you want a Touch, you have to buy it from Logitech (or Amazon), and you have to pay full price. Frankly, I don't understand the rationale behind Logitech's marketing decisions for the Touch. For me, these actions don't exactly instill a lot of confidence or respect for the company as a whole.

JJZolx
2010-06-08, 08:26
What shortcommings are you referring to?

Too little memory, anemic CPU, small screen, insufficient power to the USB port.


Also, if what you say had even a hint of truth to it, then the Touch would not be selling for List price.

Something is certainly unusual. Why does a manufacturer not supply willing retailers with product? Is there some kind of supply shortage such that only Amazon can be supplied with product? Why would Logitech continue to sell them online rather than supply retailers? You'd think satisfying your retailers would take priority over your own online sales, which already competes against them. Something is going on.

JJZolx
2010-06-08, 08:35
insufficient power to the USB port

Before anyone goes off about the port being designed to USB spec...

I just bought a little netbook. On _battery_ power it runs an external bus-powered USB drive that the Touch cannot.

pfarrell
2010-06-08, 08:46
On 06/08/2010 11:26 AM, JJZolx wrote:
> Too little memory, anemic CPU, small screen, insufficient power to the
> USB port.

Wow, you don't want much. Dream on. If you want a big screen, get an
iPad or one of its zillions of competitors.

All of your imagined problems could be fixed by Logitech changing the
advertising copy. Its a great player, its never going to be a big server.

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

iwannatouch
2010-06-08, 08:53
All of your imagined problems could be fixed by Logitech changing the advertising copy.
In other words, the Touch fails to live up to the promises made in Logitech's advertising?

pfarrell
2010-06-08, 09:07
On 06/08/2010 11:53 AM, iwannatouch wrote:
> pfarrell;553556 Wrote:
>> All of your imagined problems could be fixed by Logitech changing the
>> advertising copy.
> In other words, the Touch fails to live up to the promises made in
> Logitech's advertising?

Rather, it fails to meet expectations raised by sloppy wording in
"Logitech's advertising". Its a dinky box, with a limited CPU and
limited amount of memory that can do some things very well. It does this
on very little power, so its a green product.

Sadly, the basic player code was in decent shape last Summer, and 99%
the effort went into TinySBS. Many of the complaints, perhaps nearly all
of them, are related to TinySBS. The expectations were not set.

I really like mine. It works great. But my "server" is a five year old
PC that sits in the basement.

I do not agree with @JJZolx that the expectations would be met if the
Touch itself was rev'd. Twice the CPU, and twice the memory is not going
to let it support huge libraries. Rather than "fixing" the product, just
fix the copy.

All IMHO, YMMV, etc.


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

iPhone
2010-06-08, 09:29
In other words, the Touch fails to live up to the promises made in Logitech's advertising?

In my opinion, NO. The Touch does what it says it will do. Does it do it the way everybody wants it to be done with just any old outside parts? It does not. The problem is people expecting to much and reading to much into the ad copy. Does it have a built in server, yes it does. Is it better to use the Touch with a dedicated SBS server, yes it is. Does it say anywhere that TinySC is better then SBS, no it does not. Can you use a USB drive with the Touch, yes you can. Can you use just ANY USB drive with Touch, no you can't.

And again, the Touch is a Network Media Player with a 'Feature' of a limited downscaled built-in server. It is NOT a Music Server with a 'Feature' of also being a Network Media Player.

Getting back on topic, if you want a Touch, order one from Logitech. That way you are supporting the company that you want to stay around.

Tony T
2010-06-08, 09:54
With all due respect Tony, one only has to take an honest look at the many threads in this forum to realize that quite a few people are experiencing a range of problems with the Touch, and that it is indeed "coming up short" in ways that are important to consumers.

For a 1st generation product, it works well and has met my expectations for the most part. I was expecting it to power my USB, so it failed there, but an $8 ac/dc adaptor solved that problem. The sound is excellent when run through my stereo system and while the processor is indeed underpowered, for the most part (aside from minor rebuffering issues), it serves my SBRadios quite well. And for $300, I find it reasonably priced.

toby10
2010-06-08, 11:21
Rather, it fails to meet expectations raised by sloppy wording in
"Logitech's advertising". Its a dinky box, with a limited CPU and
limited amount of memory that can do some things very well. It does this
on very little power, so its a green product.......

I'm likely going to ask a very dumb question (big shocker to the regulars on here) with my ZERO knowledge of computers, software, firmware, etc..

But here goes...

Is there any possibility via firmware update to make the Touch's SD card slot act as additional memory for the Touch?
Maybe adding up to 32gb of additional memory via SD to alleviate Touch's lack of memory?

I realize this does nothing for Touch's true Achilles heel of a very low capacity CPU for internal server needs.

mdm
2010-06-08, 12:20
...Is there any possibility via firmware update to make the Touch's SD card slot act as additional memory for the Touch?

SD card is too slow to be a memory. It can only be a disk. At least so far.
Thus an average I/O Bus clock of DDR2-400 SDRAM is 200MHz, DDR2-1600 SDRAM is 533MHz... in its turn SD card has only 20-40 MHz of bus clock. It means that Touch's CPU will not work but wait for SD to do something. That is why computers have RAM and HDD. RAM is very fast and small and HDD is slow but very large.

ModelCitizen
2010-06-08, 12:31
The Touch a had a torturous birth. It sat on the warehouse shelves for ages whilst TinySC was being honed and the bugs ironed out and even then it was released before it did what marketing said it would (the device is not sufficiently powerful for TinySBS to match up to the marketing spiel, e.g. struggles with large libraries, scanning stuffs up play, no way to set path to library, etc).

Even the product concept itself is somewhat flawed - a touch screen on a device tethered by wire to your systems amplifier? Surely a smaller touch screen on a mobile remote (like iPeng on an iPhone for instance) would make more sense or a big display screen (not necessarily touch) for display near near the hifi? It falls between all the stools.

And now the Touch is not being supplied to resellers and is sold via Amazon and Logitech. This must make it simpler to administer returns, and you've got to assume it's only enough outlet to shift existing stock.

Current *Touch* (not SBS) development/bug fixes are supported by a single developer, part time (judging by number of related code checkins).

It's not hard to join up the dots.

iwannatouch
2010-06-08, 13:08
I want to thank this community's senior members for making it crystal clear to me (sorry it took so long). The Touch as it is - is not the Touch that Logitech says it is. If I expect it do the things I want it to do, like handling a large library from an EHD, I am likely to be frustrated and/or disappointed. As confusing as this experience has been for me, I cannot imagine what it's like for those beta-testers who worked so hard to get the Touch to do as much as it does.

Again, thanks for all the information and advice. Maybe some day Logitech will make something that fits my needs, but for now I think it's better if I keep may hands off a Touch (lame pun intended).

iPhone
2010-06-08, 13:15
Current Touch development/bug fixes are supported by a single developer, very, very part time. What are the other Logitech developers doing?

If that's true, probably working on the Logitech/Google TV thing?

andyg
2010-06-08, 13:22
Current Touch development/bug fixes are supported by a single developer, part time.

Wait, what? Where did you get this from? There are 5 of us engineers working on SB full-time.

mherger
2010-06-08, 13:34
Current Touch development/bug fixes are supported by a single developer, part time.

...while I spend my vacation with my family. You know nothing.

Tony T
2010-06-08, 13:58
I want to thank this community's senior members for making it crystal clear to me (sorry it took so long). The Touch as it is - is not the Touch that Logitech says it is. If I expect it do the things I want it to do, like handling a large library from an EHD, I am likely to be frustrated and/or disappointed. As confusing as this experience has been for me, I cannot imagine what it's like for those beta-testers who worked so hard to get the Touch to do as much as it does.

Again, thanks for all the information and advice. Maybe some day Logitech will make something that fits my needs, but for now I think it's better if I keep may hands off a Touch (lame pun intended).

What do you consider large? I have 200g of FLAC files (8,000 tracks) that play with minimal issues (that being rebuffering of the 1st track when playing random songs, a minor nuisance ).

Let us know which product you buy (take a look at the Sony Dash, Linn Digital Stream Players and the Olive Opus, to name a few).

Apesbrain
2010-06-08, 14:26
@Andy & Michael, thank you both for weighing in on this topic. I'm going to buy a Touch to add to my Classic and Radio. I'm just pissed that I missed out on the 25% discount that some people snagged in April. Eventually I'll get over it and buy one from Amazon. Please keep up the good work!