PDA

View Full Version : Radio Station not available?



Texas97
2010-05-14, 09:33
I bought my SBR a couple of weeks ago, got it this week and have been playing around with it. I am very happy with it. It is pretty cool. I was amazed how well it synced to my iTunes on my laptop.

Ok so here is my question. Before I bought it, I really wanted to listen to some of the local stations (I live in Austin). My favorite radio station in town is KVET 98.1. Before buying this product, I looked on the squeezebox website and checked to see if 98.1 was available. It was according to the website search page (gave me the green check mark). I got it and it worked great. Even got my radio station.

Last night, however I could not pick it up via internet radio. It isn't showing on the list of locals when I go to "internet radio". I went to the squeezebox website and now it is saying that station is not available? I know for a fact it was available before I bought it via their website. Could it have dropped off in 2 weeks? That seems strange. Plus it worked 2 days ago.

Here is where it gets even more strange. I noticed that when I had my laptop on and I was connected to it, if I went to "internet radio" it is showing up on my local list. But if I turn off my laptop and hop back on mysb.com it drops off.

Any thoughts?

toby10
2010-05-14, 12:20
KVET is likely an AAC stream. SBS on your computer can play AAC, MySB.com cannot.

Texas97
2010-05-14, 12:50
You are 100% correct. I did some digging and found out that is why.

Will my SBradio only be able to play AAC streaming stations via SBserver or is this a fix that can be made to the software?

toby10
2010-05-14, 13:13
You are 100% correct. I did some digging and found out that is why.

Will my SBradio only be able to play AAC streaming stations via SBserver or is this a fix that can be made to the software?

Dunno, but I'd guess not very likely to be fixed.
MySB (and all prior versions of MySB) has never supported AAC streaming.
But it sure seems like more and more stations are going the AAC route so maybe this should be addressed by Logitech, assuming they can do anything about it.

Until last fall no SB player supported AAC natively so it was kinda pointless to offer AAC streams via MySB.
But now the new players do support AAC and more stations are going AAC.

Texas97
2010-05-14, 14:11
But now the new players do support AAC and more stations are going AAC.

Do you mean that new Logitech Squeezebox players are supporting AAC natively? Just not the SBRadio and older ones? I didn't think the SB Radio was that old. According to their website, Grace Digital offers the station I referred to...

bpa
2010-05-14, 14:55
MySB (and all prior versions of MySB) has never supported AAC streaming

This is not quite correct.

Fir player that support AAC natively (i.e. Radio and Touch) MySB supports AAC streaming if the URL is provided as a Favorite or other means such as SomaFM App (last entry in menu enables users to pick the AAC version of SomaFM streams) or iPlayer App plays BBC AAC streams.

At present the MySB does not support AAC using RadioTime.

toby10
2010-05-14, 15:24
This is not quite correct.

Fir player that support AAC natively (i.e. Radio and Touch) MySB supports AAC streaming if the URL is provided as a Favorite or other means such as SomaFM App (last entry in menu enables users to pick the AAC version of SomaFM streams) or iPlayer App plays BBC AAC streams.

At present the MySB does not support AAC using RadioTime.

Yeah, true. That's why I wonder if this could not be made to support AAC from RadioTime feeds.

toby10
2010-05-14, 15:34
Do you mean that new Logitech Squeezebox players are supporting AAC natively? Just not the SBRadio and older ones? I didn't think the SB Radio was that old. According to their website, Grace Digital offers the station I referred to...

No, the Radio does support AAC natively.
But as bpa points out the station you are trying to play comes from RadioTime and MySB does not currently support AAC playback from RadioTime feeds.
How & why this is I don't know.
My guess is that the RadioTime AAC feeds are in a format that MySB cannot currently deal with (like the url form that bpa suggests).

So I guess to play AAC via MySB requires some sort of special formatting or handling that MySB can't deal with. :(

bobisculous
2010-05-14, 19:23
Yeah, Clear Channel it is. I am having the same problem with local stations here in Houston (The Buzz, The Arrow, AM stations, etc). Yours and mine are all owned by Clear Channel.

Started about two nights ago. Everything with them stopped working. They are probably the biggest station operator in Houston. The only stations I listened to were these stations...Awesome.

Come on Logitech/MySB...Big time stations are making a move and you need to keep up with them. Figure it out and fix it.

-Cameron

bpa
2010-05-14, 23:56
Come on Logitech/MySB...Big time stations are making a move and you need to keep up with them. Figure it out and fix it.

These stations have moved to a Flash/Audio stream which requires a Flash player to play them. If they are using the encrypted Flash/Audio protocol then there is nothing legal that Logitech (or any 3rd party plugin developer) can do. These stations do not want you to listen on any device except through their Flash based (usually PC) player - you should complain to the stations as loss of listeners is where it hurts them.

The possible solution is if the station can be played on iTunes/iPhone/iTouch. Since these devices do not support Flash there is a hidden URL used to play the station on the iPhone/iTouch - get iTunes to show that URL and then use it to get SB player to play the station.

jwagner010
2010-05-15, 03:02
So why is there a RadioTime menu option on my Squeezebox if the streams cannot be played? This thing is becoming more and more like a brick every day.

jwagner010
2010-05-15, 03:34
I stand corrected it appears radiotime has come up with a solution. They just removed all the clearchannel stations from RadioTime menus. Great solution !!! Appears the only way to listen to Clearchannel stations is through their iHeartRadio application. Appears they are not happy with just the advertising revenue in the radio stream but they want the online advertising as well. I guess they don't understand (care) that many users use devices like the squeezebox to listen in and there is no online advertising associated with these devices.

Anyone out there been able to port the iheartradio as a plugin to the squeezebox?

Mnyb
2010-05-15, 03:36
So why is there a RadioTime menu option on my Squeezebox if the streams cannot be played? This thing is becoming more and more like a brick every day.

Radio and Touch will do AAC , the "old architecture" ip3k based players will not without the help of a local server.
And there seem to be all kinds of weird ways this get broken anyhow.
I think bpa got the grip on the details he apparently listen to more radio than me.

AAC for SB3 and Transporter and Reciever has been a wish for years, but the devs never found a reasonable way to get it into the firmware.
Even when the products where current and actively developed.

RadioTime menus are provided by Radio Time I suppose and so are all other content providers menus like Shoutcast, there are 100000's internet radio channels some wont play, I cant see a reasonable way to filter out the "working ones" as this is changing all the time

toby10
2010-05-15, 04:31
..... SomaFM App (last entry in menu enables users to pick the AAC version of SomaFM streams) or iPlayer App plays BBC AAC streams.....

I'm not finding this setting in the SomaFM App on my Radio nor on MySB nor test-MySB > My Apps > SomaFM
Is this a 7.6 beta feature?

jwagner010
2010-05-15, 04:32
Excuse me for my ignorance, I am not an expert in this area. I use Squeezebox server (Unix NAS) connected to a number of duets. Why isn't a solution possible to run on the server that then sends it to the duet?

toby10
2010-05-15, 04:58
I stand corrected it appears radiotime has come up with a solution. They just removed all the clearchannel stations from RadioTime menus. Great solution !!! ........

My local Clear Channel station is still playing fine on MySB.

Clear Channel listing on RadioTime.com
http://radiotime.com/affiliate/a_33058/station/Clear_Channel_Radio_Stations.aspx
There are hundreds of them.

bpa
2010-05-15, 05:16
I'm not finding this setting in the SomaFM App on my Radio nor on MySB nor test-MySB > My Apps > SomaFM
Is this a 7.6 beta feature?

No it is a 7.5 and MYSB feature.

Goto

My Apps > SomaFM > Mission Control

then scroll down one more to "AAC Streams" and then press Wheel then yopu will get the same list of SomaFM station only this time they are AAC format.

bpa
2010-05-15, 05:30
Appears they are not happy with just the advertising revenue in the radio stream but they want the online advertising as well. I guess they don't understand (care) that many users use devices like the squeezebox to listen in and there is no online advertising associated with these devices.


Correct - the station managers do not want any easy way to bypass their ads or avoid promotions/competitions and probably gathering additional info on their listeners which can be used to justify advertising rates.



Anyone out there been able to port the iheartradio as a plugin to the squeezebox?

The BBC iPlayer app does a similar job for BBC radio - it can play Flash Audio / AAC on Radio/Touch. However players are usually tied to specific streams so BBC iPlayer app would need to be modified to play other Flash Audio streams. This is possible as the Flash protocol has been published by Adobe but if the station is using an encryption option then it is not legal to create an app or plugin to play the stream.

There may be a workaround if the station can be played on a iPod/iPhone/iTouch/iPad as this means there is an hidden normal streaming URL. THis URL can be used on SB players.

toby10
2010-05-15, 06:13
bpa,

Would this be a good summation of the RadioTime AAC issue on MySB?
As always, feel free to edit/add/delete if I'm not representing the issue accurately. :)

================================================== =========================

Problem:
SB player connected to MySB using the Internet Radio menu and subsequent menus….
- station listed on SBS but not listed on MySB
- station listed on both SBS and MySB, plays on SBS but won’t play on MySB

Short Answer:
That station is likely an AAC format stream sourced from RadioTime.
RadioTime AAC feeds cannot be played from MySqueezeBox.com (MySB), but will likely play when connected to SqueezeBox Server (SBS) on your computer.

Long Answer:
All internet radio feeds within the Internet Radio menu item (and subsequent sub menu items) are provided by a service called RadioTime. RadioTime receives the station feeds, organizes and catalogs them, then makes them available to subscribers and services like MySB.

Different stations format their streams in different ways, they could be MP3, WMA, AAC, AAC+, and other formats... RadioTime simply provides a simple way to find all of these streams then sends your selected stream to your SB player through MySB.

The RadioTime AAC feeds are in a format that cannot be played by the SB players without server transcoding.
SBS can transcode, MySB cannot transcode.

MySB can play AAC streams if in a format that MySB can play without requiring transcoding.
- if AAC URL is placed into your Favorites
- iPlayer App plays BBC streams in AAC format (limited to new players Touch & Radio)
- SomaFM > AAC Streams (limited to new players Touch & Radio)

Possible Remedies for AAC playback issues on MySB:
- find the actual stream URL by playing the stations stream directly from the stations web site on your computer, see if your player (WMP, iTunes, WinAmp, etc..) can pick out the actual URL, cut & paste the URL into your MySB Favorites
- if above does not work you can try another application like URL Snooper
- email the station and ask for their direct link URL, add to MySB Favorites
- use SBS on your computer instead of MySB (I know this is not what MySB users want to hear, don’t yell at me, I’m just suggesting an alternative)

And to further confuse issues, only the newer SB players (Touch and Radio) can play AAC natively. So even if MySB > RadioTime were to offer AAC format streams in a MySB friendly format, the older players (SB1/2/3, Boom, Duet) could not play these anyway.

This only covers playback issues of AAC format streams related to SB players, RadioTime, Internet Radio menu items, MySB.com
This does not cover other streaming issues like stations using:
- Flash Player (limited to new players Touch & Radio, only works with specific Apps for specific streams)
- mms format streams (can be problematic, needs to be in http format)

bobisculous
2010-05-15, 08:34
Yeah, these stations that were dropped by Clear Channel are supported on the iheartradio app. So now I have to try and figure out the url. Should be fun. I shall be definitely passing on a word of dismay to the local Clear Channel studios.

jwagner010
2010-05-15, 08:42
Does anyone have the email address of the CEO of Clear Channel so we can send him emails on our thoughts on this matter?

jwagner010
2010-05-16, 08:30
So just to be clear as I have found these posts confusing due to my limited knowledge.

I want to play Z100 (owned by Clear Channel) on my set up. I am running squeezeserver 7.4.2 on a Unix NAS (Synology 207+) and I have three Duets. I run everything through squeezeserver not mysb.com. As of four days ago Z100 stopped working on my set up. Is there a plugin or a setting I can change in my set up to continue to listen to Z100?

toby10
2010-05-16, 11:13
So just to be clear as I have found these posts confusing due to my limited knowledge.

I want to play Z100 (owned by Clear Channel) on my set up. I am running squeezeserver 7.4.2 on a Unix NAS (Synology 207+) and I have three Duets. I run everything through squeezeserver not mysb.com. As of four days ago Z100 stopped working on my set up. Is there a plugin or a setting I can change in my set up to continue to listen to Z100?

Z100 search on my Radio returns five stations. Can you be more specific?
If it is an mms format stream you can try disabling native WMA playback:
SBS > Settings > Advanced > File Types > Windows Media > Windows Media > disable

jwagner010
2010-05-16, 11:38
Tried disabling WMA playback, no luck.

The station is 100.3, Z100 New York

toby10
2010-05-16, 11:52
Plays fine here, but I'm on XP.

RadioTime lists the stream type as: "A non-standard external stream type that may or may not work"
So I have no idea what type of stream it is, nor is that info provided anymore on the players. :(

If it was playing for you before through your NAS and now does not, maybe the station changed it's stream format?
If they changed it to WMA, doesn't a NAS device not play WMA as it has no Windows codecs or something?

Just a wild guess and I don't use a NAS so I'm just guessing and throwing out ideas. :)

jwagner010
2010-05-16, 12:04
I should be able to play WMA as I have installed BPA's plugin to play these types of streams??? Assuming thats the format for this radio station. I suspect it is AAC which I thought Squeezecenter was able to handle. So confused.

bpa
2010-05-16, 14:59
To play WMA on Synology NAS, many of the Synology range of NAS (i.e. those who do not use x86 processors) used to require a special version of mplayer and a modified plugin as well as the NAS used a cut down version of Linux.

First it is better to identify the stream format.
What URL are you using ?

I don't believe I can test this as I think it is a US only stream.

jwagner010
2010-05-16, 15:06
I am using following URL I changed the username

http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?id=s29453&formats=aac,mp3,wma,wmpro,wmvoice,wmvideo,ogg&username=XXXXXXX&partnerId=16

bpa
2010-05-16, 15:19
I can't use the URL probably the US issue.

Can you play the URL on a PC player such as WMP, Winamp, VLC or other and then check "properties" of the stream when the stream is playing.

garym
2010-05-16, 15:31
I am using following URL I changed the username

http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?id=s29453&formats=aac,mp3,wma,wmpro,wmvoice,wmvideo,ogg&username=XXXXXXX&partnerId=16

I can play this just fine in SbS running from my computer (windows XP) serving a SB Classic player. But when I try to save it as a favorite in mysqueezebox.com, I get an error message (but it does save). But when trying to play from mysb.com I get an error.

bpa
2010-05-16, 15:35
I can play this just fine in SbS running from my computer (windows XP) serving a SB Classic player. But when I try to save it as a favorite in mysqueezebox.com, I get an error message (but it does save). But when trying to play from mysb.com I get an error.

That sounds like it is an AAC streams which is being transcoded on SBS but cannot play on mysb because there is no transcoding.

To see if there is a non AAC stream try this version of the URL - the "aac," has been removed.


http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?id=s29453&formats=mp3,wma,wmpro,wmvoice,wmvideo,ogg&username=XXXXXXX&partnerId=16

jwagner010
2010-05-16, 15:42
Looks like it plays on sbs on a windows machine but not sbs on a linux (Synology) NAS. Anyone know how I can make my NAS play this stream?

Casey
2010-05-16, 15:44
Ahhh - this stinks. I basically bought this radio to get Cities 97. I would LOVE to have an iheartradio app for the Squeezebox Radio. I have it on my Blackberry and really enjoy it. Does anybody know if theres a 3rd party plug-in code yet?

I also noticed that I can't access the XM 3rd party plug-in.

garym
2010-05-16, 15:47
That sounds like it is an AAC streams which is being transcoded on SBS but cannot play on mysb because there is no transcoding.

To see if there is a non AAC stream try this version of the URL - the "aac," has been removed.


http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?id=s29453&formats=mp3,wma,wmpro,wmvoice,wmvideo,ogg&username=XXXXXXX&partnerId=16


nope, no luck. this didn't work in mysb.com either. I don't know what to recommend to the original poster. For now, he can use SbS to access this stream. Seems like a fairly generic type station in terms of what I heard briefly (I suppose to be expected if this is a clear channel station), so probably similar stations out there that are accessible on mysb.com. Maybe it is the morning DJs, etc. that the OP is looking for in particular from that station.

jwagner010
2010-05-16, 15:51
Removig the AAC doesn't help. I cannot access it via SBS running on my Linux NAS. Is there a plugin or mod I can make to my NAS to have it run on SBS?

bpa
2010-05-16, 15:58
If the player can play AAC natively (i.e. a Radio or Touch) then the URL which has "AAC" will play even mysb.com.

The problem is that on mysb.com the "Internet Radio search" (which is driven by radioTime) seems to be set up so that it will never return an AAC streams so users get confused thinking the stream cannot be played on Radio/Touch.

This is a bug in mysb and should be reported. I think the problem is probably in "formats" routine of SDI::Service::Player::SqueezeNetworkClient which is called from the RadioTime plugin (via Squeezeplay.pm) but the source for this module is hidden so I cannot confirm

toby10
2010-05-17, 03:26
If the player can play AAC natively (i.e. a Radio or Touch) then the URL which has "AAC" will play even mysb.com.

The problem is that on mysb.com the "Internet Radio search" (which is driven by radioTime) seems to be set up so that it will never return an AAC streams so users get confused thinking the stream cannot be played on Radio/Touch.......

......and that's why I'm wondering if RadioTime feeds could not include AAC delivered to MySB.

But I suppose implementing it is not so simple and will cause possible support calls and confusion with the older players that cannot play AAC natively.

I know RadioTime lets the user select which stream formats to show in search results, but that only applies to RadioTime's own player.

Maybe AAC feeds could be included but clearly marked as AAC so users on older players will know it can't be played?
Maybe make showing AAC feeds selectable in MySB > Account Settings?
Or make showing AAC feeds selectable in MySB > Players for only newer players (with a clear warning about such feeds on older players)?

Dunno, but it sure seems like a growing issue that should be considered if at all doable.

audiophile
2010-05-17, 04:56
This sucks. I have been listening to some clear channel stations for about a year through mySB and now am in the same boat as you. I hope there is a solution soon.

bpa
2010-05-17, 05:00
Dunno, but it sure seems like a growing issue that should be considered if at all doable.

Has anybody logged it as a bug ?

I can't do it as I can't play Clear Channel stations so could never test after bug fix.

pbroughton
2010-05-17, 10:15
One of my favorite radio stations was recently dropped by RadioTime from use in MySB.com due to a change in their stream.

It now is an AAC in streamtheworld.

bpa mentioned that it might be possible to glean an alternate stream from play on the iTouch. This station does have an app that plays fine on the iTouch.

However, unlike iTunes or Win Media Player, I can't figure out how to discern the stream being played on the iTouch.

Could anyone elaborate on how this can be done?

The station, The Walrus 105.7 in San Diego, does not show up on either the iTunes or WMPlayer inventory of stations, and the Radio Roku URL Snooper doesn't return useful info since the online player is flash based.

Any help or leads would be appreciated. It worked great for so long.........

toby10
2010-05-17, 13:35
Has anybody logged it as a bug ?

I can't do it as I can't play Clear Channel stations so could never test after bug fix.

I know I have not. I look into the bug listings more closely when I return.

bobisculous
2010-05-21, 15:52
I passed this information on to Michael Garfield, The "High Tech Texan" who has his own show 6 days a week, one of which is devoted to technology here in Houston. He said he passed the issue on to his IT department who could then pass it to San Antonio where their HQ is at. Hopefully something can come of this.

-Cameron

The station he is on is a Clear Channel station

sandymc
2010-05-30, 14:21
First post here so i thought i would start with a good deed. Try this url for walrus 105.7 http://provisioning.streamtheworld.com/pls/XPRSFMAAC.pls it works for me.

mjweeks
2010-06-01, 10:04
Grace, Sonos, Sangean, etc. will play Clear Channel stations. I believe it would require Logitech to actually talk to Clear Channel.

pbroughton
2010-06-02, 21:01
Thanks Sandymc.

That url does work perfectly on the SB Server using the Server to run the Booms, SB3s, receiver, etc.

But it doesn't work on mysb.com since it's an unsupported stream for all my existing SBox devices. But it works great on my SoundBridge Radio!

Since I choose to not run my server all the time, I rely (relied) on mysb.com to listen to my several favorite radio stations.

It seems that I am out of luck, so far. But thanks!

sandymc
2010-06-03, 05:14
Your welcome. And good luck.

garym
2010-06-03, 05:46
Thanks Sandymc.

That url does work perfectly on the SB Server using the Server to run the Booms, SB3s, receiver, etc.

But it doesn't work on mysb.com since it's an unsupported stream for all my existing SBox devices. But it works great on my SoundBridge Radio!

Since I choose to not run my server all the time, I rely (relied) on mysb.com to listen to my several favorite radio stations.

It seems that I am out of luck, so far. But thanks!

Not a good answer I know, but a TOUCH or RADIO will play this stream from mysb.com. These natively handle AAC.... I just had the same issue with WABC's new stream.

bobisculous
2010-06-07, 19:01
As I said in other thread,

MY CLEAR CHANNEL STATIONS ARE BACK!

I am hoping this was from my call to Michael Garfield here in Houston. Either way, mine are up! KPRC, KTRH, The Arrow 93.7, and more.

w00t!