PDA

View Full Version : Cyrus Two no worky - fix or upgrade?



thurstongarden
2009-09-29, 05:56
Some time back I got a free Cyrus Two and PSX off freecycle and can say I grew to love the sound very much. I have some Mission 773 hooked upto the Cyrus.

10 days ago, the Cyrus stopped working. Spotting a (newer version of) Cyrus Two on ebay, with an hour to run, I jumped and bought it. It arrived today and hooked up to the PSX, power up and I had sound for a few seconds... Not happy. On Googling, I relised I should have removed the two fuses from the Two, but they seem to be OK and removing them has not made any difference.

So - do I get either/both of them repaired (Cyrus repair will no doubt cost an arm and a leg) or do I bite the bullet and pony up for a new replacement amp? Roksan Kandy K2 is tempting but the nearest shop is 100 miles away...

The replacement C2 was 125 - add in the cost of a repair job and the money would go quite a way to a new amp.

What to do?????? I hate dilemmas!

dennis55
2009-09-29, 08:54
thurstongarden,Mission Electronics Cyrus takes me way back to a simpler time in my audio history!......i had the original "giant killer" model ONE.
it was a great wee amp to accomany my Dual CS505mk2 and Monitor Audio R300md's.
things changed slightly when i paid a visit to Stereo Stereo in Glasgow.......
anyway i'd get your PSX checked out first,it shouldn't cost a fortune and i'm sure there's someone to check it over in Edinburgh.
i'm situated here about 500yards from Linn HQ.

cheers

dennis

ChrisGerhard
2009-09-29, 08:57
I just had my Cyrus two repaired and I mostly don't regret it. It cost 160 pounds and is now working as new. My only regret is that I can now listen to my old vinyl again and the SqueezeBox does not quite live up to the same so I need to investigate better DACs or a transporter. Alas my budget does not extent to either.

It went back to cyrus via a local hifi shop and took months to return and even then they failed to fix the phono stage first time.

Had I seen one on ebay I would have bid for it myself.

thurstongarden
2009-09-29, 11:02
Thanks chaps.

Dennis I nearly drove through to Sevenoaks on GW Road this afternoon and bought the Kandy. I had a wee look at my post office savings book first and thought better of it.

I am trying a repair shop tomorrow. I think the PSX will be to blame.

I'm the impatient sort and don't want to be withough a good amp for any length of time.

dennis55
2009-09-30, 09:41
thurstongarden, ok on the Kandy.
this amp by Cambridge is really well thought of and doesn't cost an arm & leg to buy.
have a look on Google for reviews.

regards


dennis

thurstongarden
2009-10-09, 10:27
Good news! I had a call today from the repair place to say they had fixed both amps. There was a bust capacitor in the PSX which blew both the amps. You live and learn.

However, the repair chappie asvised strongly not to hook up the PSX. He could not see the benefit of it....the power supplies are the same in each.... Now, I am a noob to the advantages of the PSX, but the sound was noticably better with it hooked up (before it blew both amps of course!). He said the boards that he replaced in both amps were the last he could source, to a repeat problem would be the end of an amp in his view.

But on the basis that the PSX is now repaired, surely it won't blow an amp again? He put the bust capacitor down to age - dry as he called it. He said there were 15 in the PSX and if another blew then the PSX would blow the board in the amp again.

So, the dillema is, do I hook the PSX up? I have two working amps now, so I guess one could be a spare... I guess I will need to remove the two fuses in the amp before I hook up the PSX (assuming hook it up!) - repair bloke said he had put them back in.

Thoughts would be appreciated!....My electrical knowledge extends to changing light bulbs....

Ta.

Phil Leigh
2009-10-10, 03:58
The PSX is a very straightforward PSU with some expensive (and now irreplaceable - there are no direct replacements I'm aware of) custom-designed slit foil reservoir caps. These were probably made in conjunction with DNM who pioneered such caps.

Did the guy who fixed it say exactly what he had changed in the PSX? If he has replaced all of the s-f caps, then you should be good to go for another 15 years.

Really on something of this age he should have replaced EVERY cap, while he had the board out.

The PSX is not (as far as I can recall) identical to the internal one - it has more grunt. When using the PSX, part of the internal amp PSU supply powers the pre-amp stages (this is why the fuses have to come out and the switch no longer has any effect - the power amp goes to the PSX for power).

thurstongarden
2009-10-10, 04:08
Phil - the repair chappie, as I understand,s only replaced the dry cap. TBH I was not hopeful that he would be able to do anything, but he came up trumphs. I live in the sticks and repair places are few and far between. This guy was a TV repairer (who actually gets their telly repaired these days??).

I am very very tempted to take the fuses out of the original (push switch) amp and hook up the PSX. I still have the ebay (rocker switch) amp which I could box up and save as a replacement. I am using it on its own right now and it does sound good....should I just make do and box the PSX and push switch amp up?

I hate decisions!

Phil Leigh
2009-10-10, 04:22
Phil - the repair chappie, as I understand,s only replaced the dry cap. TBH I was not hopeful that he would be able to do anything, but he came up trumphs. I live in the sticks and repair places are few and far between. This guy was a TV repairer (who actually gets their telly repaired these days??).

I am very very tempted to take the fuses out of the original (push switch) amp and hook up the PSX. I still have the ebay (rocker switch) amp which I could box up and save as a replacement. I am using it on its own right now and it does sound good....should I just make do and box the PSX and push switch amp up?

I hate decisions!

I've looked at the circuit for the PSX (and the Cyrus 2).

They are very simple, and can be repaired (or even improved somewhat).

There are 12 caps in the PSX of which only 2 are the expensive slit foil type. The problem is, electrolytic caps do dry out over time. When they dry they go short circuit. I don't know how old your amps/PSX are, but really all electrolytic caps on anything over 15 years old should be replaced.

Given that a failed cap blew your amps, and that not all caps were replaced I'd say you had a ticking time bomb... however, the same applies to the PSU inside your amps - they have the same caps!!!.


Personally, I'd get all caps in both PSX and Amp replaced (preferably NOT by a TV repairer) ...or just get rid of everything on eBay while it still works!

thurstongarden
2009-10-10, 04:31
Thanks Phil. your words 'ticking time bomb' are all I need to hear to stop me hooking up the PSX. I don't remember the date on the stickers inside the kit, but it definitely was 80's not 90's.

The rocker switch amp will be the newer of the two so I will stick with this on it's own for the time being. A good friend is a Chief Artificer in the navy and he might be the man to replace the caps for me. I would feel safer putting the kit in to his hands than some unknown shop. I might text him now to see where in the world he is!

I would need to source replacement caps tho - any ideas where from, and what I need to look for?

Phil Leigh
2009-10-10, 04:36
Thanks Phil. your words 'ticking time bomb' are all I need to hear to stop me hooking up the PSX. I don't remember the date on the stickers inside the kit, but it definitely was 80's not 90's.

The rocker switch amp will be the newer of the two so I will stick with this on it's own for the time being. A good friend is a Chief Artificer in the navy and he might be the man to replace the caps for me. I would feel safer putting the kit in to his hands than some unknown shop. I might text him now to see where in the world he is!

I would need to source replacement caps tho - any ideas where from, and what I need to look for?

It's all vanilla stuff from Maplins, except for the two main slit-foils (and these CAN be replaced but not with exact replacements). Much of the good sound of this amp is attributed to these caps.

When you are ready, I can advise you on where to source replacements that can be made to fit...

thurstongarden
2009-10-10, 04:47
Excellent. I have no idea when my oppo will be here. Last time he was in Scotland was December last year! It could be a long wait....

Many thanks though!