PDA

View Full Version : Hostname problem in SqueezeCenter web interface



mbg
2009-06-10, 05:27
Hi,

I've been having a problem recently with the SqueezeCenter web interface on 7.3.2. I'm using the default skin.

A few weeks ago, I changed the hostname of the server that the server software is running on. Now, whenever I open SqueezeCenter in IE8 (on a LAN PC), the left-hand pane of the UI shows a page load error. When I look at the properties of the page, it looks like it's trying to load the page from the OLD hostname. If I refresh the entire page (not just the left pane), it usually shows properly after that. But, every time I open it again, it does the same thing.

I don't have the same problem on Firefox on the same PC. But, I don't know if it's an IE issue, a caching issue, or something else. I hardly ever use Firefox, so it have ever cached that page, which is why I question caching. I've tried clearing the SqueezeCenter cache folder and IE8 cache but it doesn't seem to help.

I've tried uninstalling (but keeping settings) and re-installing SC, but it didn't help. I guess, next, I could try reinstalling and removing settings to see if that helps.

Thanks for any ideas...

mherger
2009-06-10, 05:34
> I don't have the same problem on Firefox on the same PC. But, I don't
> know if it's an IE issue, a caching issue, or something else. I hardly

It must be a caching issue: the pages are using relative paths without the
host name in the address. Don't know why wiping the cache wouldn't help
though.

--

Michael

mbg
2009-06-10, 06:02
> I don't have the same problem on Firefox on the same PC. But, I don't
> know if it's an IE issue, a caching issue, or something else. I hardly

It must be a caching issue: the pages are using relative paths without the
host name in the address. Don't know why wiping the cache wouldn't help
though.

--

Michael

Thanks, that helped narrow it down. Apparently, IE8 stores a lot of data in its Favorites .URL files and, even though I changed the URL in the Properties UI for the Favorite when I changed the server name, data pointing to the old hostname remained in the Favorite file.

I deleted and recreated the Favorite and it seems OK now.

Example, where MEDIA-SERVER is the old name and SERVER is the new name:

[DEFAULT]
BASEURL=http://media-server:9000/settings/index.html
[DOC_maincontent]
BASEURL=http://media-server:9000/settings/server/basic.html?player=...
ORIGURL=/settings/server/basic.html?player=...
[InternetShortcut]
URL=http://server:9000/settings/index.html
IDList=
IconFile=http://server:9000/favicon.ico
IconIndex=1
HotKey=0
[{000214A0-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}]
Prop3=19,2