PDA

View Full Version : No longer displaying "BBC Radio 4: The Archers!"



tricia
2009-01-16, 15:29
Hi

In the past week or so, something has stopped working on the BBC Radio (and other?) live streams regarding the programme information displayed on the Squeezebox.

I was listening to BBC Radio 4 today on my SB3 when I noticed that it
was no longer displaying the programme info, e.g "BBC R4 (UK) The Archers",
but instead just said "BBC Radio 4 (UK)". The same goes for BBC Radio 2
and so on.

N.B. This is NOT via Alien BBC by the way, but when listening via
Internet Radio->Staff Picks->By City->London->BBC Radio 4 (UK)

The other week it was all working fine and I thought it was so cool that
Slimdevices/Logitech had bothered to add in the DAB(?) programme info
text (somehow) into the stream that the Squeezebox plays/displays. But now
that no longer works, I just get plain old "BBC Radio 4 (UK)" displayed
instead of "BBC Radio 4 (UK) The Archers" :(

Does this still work for anyone else?

Any ideas on how to fix it or when it might be fixed?

Thanks in advance.

bonze
2009-01-17, 03:47
Never seen that happen on the live BBC streams.
Didn't think it was possible with the wma streams. ??

tricia
2009-01-19, 07:59
Never seen that happen on the live BBC streams.
Didn't think it was possible with the wma streams. ??

Well, I definitely saw it but cannot reproduce it now of course.
I am pretty damn sure it used to work because I kept running into the other room where we have a DAB radio to check if it said the same thing, which it did pretty much. I was so excited and now it's gone.

Can someone else confirm that it USED to work so that I know I was not in a dream and am not going mad?

Thanks.

andyg
2009-01-19, 08:07
On Jan 19, 2009, at 9:59 AM, tricia wrote:

>
> bonze;385888 Wrote:
>> Never seen that happen on the live BBC streams.
>> Didn't think it was possible with the wma streams. ??
>
> Well, I definitely saw it but cannot reproduce it now of course.
> I am pretty damn sure it used to work because I kept running into the
> other room where we have a DAB radio to check if it said the same
> thing, which it did pretty much. I was so excited and now it's gone.
>
> Can someone else confirm that it USED to work so that I know I was not
> in a dream and am not going mad?

If a stream provides WMA metadata it will be displayed, but I can't
check if the BBC streams do this. Note this will not work on SN
because it can't scan the stream, but it would work in SC. If you
paste a scan.scanner log I could tell you if it has metadata or not.

bpa
2009-01-19, 08:19
I think something has changed within the BBC - the RealAudio files which are played by AlienBBC used to have clip info which included details such as the program title - now it only says

Clip info:
name: BBC Radio 4 (international)
copyright: British Broadcasting Corporation 2009, all rights reserved.

Note the difference in that programs are identified as "BBC Radio 4 (UK)" or "BBC Radio 4 (international)" even though it has the same content.

tricia
2009-01-23, 04:12
It's working again, but is mistaken! Today 2009-01-23

I'm listening to BBC R4 via the SqueezeNetwork (not via Alient BBC)
and it's tell me I am listening to "The World at One" which is not true since it is 11.10am currently and the programme is "The Lake" actually.
(Double checked via my DAB radio.)

Odd, but it's a start.

tricia
2009-01-23, 04:17
It's working again, but is mistaken! Today 2009-01-23

I'm listening to BBC R4 via the SqueezeNetwork (not via Alient BBC)
and it's tell me I am listening to "The World at One" which is not true since it is 11.10am currently and the programme is "The Lake" actually.
(Double checked via my DAB radio.)

Odd, but it's a start.

I just went to Radio 2 and back to Radio 4 and now it's sane again, it says:

Title: BBC Radio 4 93.5 (News)
URL: http://opml.radiotime.com/StationPlaylist.axd?stationId=25419&Formats=mp3,wma,real&username=sampletime&PartnerId=16
Bitrate: 64 kbps
Now Playing: The Lake

So it's OK now (something must have had some old cached data somewhere)

bonze
2009-01-25, 07:26
OK - now I see them :)

How come this works with RadioTime, but not with for example the iPlayer plugin? Is it something RadioTime are adding into their stream?

andyg
2009-01-25, 10:55
On Jan 25, 2009, at 9:26 AM, bonze wrote:

>
> OK - now I see them :)
>
> How come this works with RadioTime, but not with for example the
> iPlayer plugin? Is it something RadioTime are adding into their
> stream?

RadioTime provides some metadata about what shows are currently being
broadcast on all their indexed stations. That's where this is coming
from.

bonze
2009-01-25, 15:57
On Jan 25, 2009, at 9:26 AM, bonze wrote:

>
> OK - now I see them :)
>
> How come this works with RadioTime, but not with for example the
> iPlayer plugin? Is it something RadioTime are adding into their
> stream?

RadioTime provides some metadata about what shows are currently being
broadcast on all their indexed stations. That's where this is coming
from.I see - so it's not a BBC thing.
Thanks for clearing that up :)

bonze
2009-01-30, 07:37
I didn't realise they also changed the 'idents' between programmes.
It was very odd seeing Chris Evans staring out from my controller yesterday evening :)