PDA

View Full Version : Constant resetting required



bytor
2008-11-04, 09:42
Okay I have the duet connected wirelessly in my upstairs bedroom - all computer stuff is in basement two flights down. I have a signal booster upstairs about 30 feet away and all of laptops and desktops work wirelessly perfectly. I constantly have to take out the controller battery or do a complete factory reset to get the duet to play. Once I do that it works great for a period of time and then drops out again. When this thing works its great but every day it requires some kind of reset. I have sonos as well in the basement and living room and it works great - I was just hoping to save some cash. Unfortunately connecting to my router in a wired configuration won't work.

st2000
2008-11-04, 10:15
bytor wrote:
> Okay I have the duet connected wirelessly in my upstairs bedroom - all
> computer stuff is in basement two flights down. I have a signal
> booster upstairs about 30 feet away and all of laptops and desktops
> work wirelessly perfectly. I constantly have to take out the
> controller battery or do a complete factory reset to get the duet to
> play. Once I do that it works great for a period of time and then drops
> out again. When this thing works its great but every day it requires
> some kind of reset. I have sonos as well in the basement and living
> room and it works great - I was just hoping to save some cash.
> Unfortunately connecting to my router in a wired configuration won't
> work.
>
>

Are you using your router as a DHCP server? Regardless, check the lease
time. Anyone care to comment on the optimum setup w.r.t. this?

It's unlikely, but streaming data in a timely fashion to your duet vs
sending data in a dependable fashion to your computers are not exactly
susceptible to the same type of wireless problems. That is,
SqueeseCenter might stop trying after so many errors where other
protocols will tolerate it. You might try turning on some of the
SqueezeCenter debugging features and inspect the resulting log on the
server.

bytor
2008-11-04, 11:33
Not a real IT expert so I'm not quite sure how to access my router - I think I can figure that out but i'm more interested in the squeezecenter debugging option. Can I find all of that through the squeezecenter on my computer?

mvalera
2008-11-04, 11:50
Please download the latest SqueezeCenter 7.2.1.

It has several firmware bug fixes for Squeezebox Controller and Squeezebox Receiver that may solve your problem. The firmware updates will download and install thereafter.

Mike

bytor
2008-11-04, 14:52
I did - no luck

Ross L
2008-11-04, 15:01
I did - no luck

When your Controller "drops out" what exactly is happening? Does the icon turn blue? Regarding the range expander, that technically still isn't 100% working, see here:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=6085

It worked for me in several configurations I tested, but it may not work in all possible roaming setups. You can browse to BSSID in network settings on your Controller to see the MAC address of the wireless access point it is connected to at any given time, this may help you to diagnose, if it is indeed some kind of roaming issue.

st2000
2008-11-04, 23:39
> bytor wrote:
>
>> stuart wrote:
>>
>> bytor wrote:
>>> Okay I have the duet connected wirelessly in my upstairs bedroom - all
>>> computer stuff is in basement two flights down. I have a signal
>>> booster upstairs about 30 feet away and all of laptops and desktops
>>> work wirelessly perfectly. I constantly have to take out the
>>> controller battery or do a complete factory reset to get the duet to
>>> play. Once I do that it works great for a period of time and then drops
>>> out again. When this thing works its great but every day it requires
>>> some kind of reset. I have sonos as well in the basement and living
>>> room and it works great - I was just hoping to save some cash.
>>> Unfortunately connecting to my router in a wired configuration won't
>>> work.
>>>
>>>
>>
>> Are you using your router as a DHCP server? Regardless, check the lease
>> time. Anyone care to comment on the optimum setup w.r.t. this?
>>
>> It's unlikely, but streaming data in a timely fashion to your duet vs
>> sending data in a dependable fashion to your computers are not exactly
>> susceptible to the same type of wireless problems. That is,
>> SqueeseCenter might stop trying after so many errors where other
>> protocols will tolerate it. You might try turning on some of the
>> SqueezeCenter debugging features and inspect the resulting log on the
>> server.
>>
> Not a real IT expert so I'm not quite sure how to access my router - I
> think I can figure that out but i'm more interested in the
> squeezecenter debugging option. Can I find all of that through the
> squeezecenter on my computer?

Let's take this one step at a time.

IP addresses are not built into any internet device. They are "leased"
by the DHCP server. What's built into each device is a MAC address.

The IP address is what is used to route data to and from each device.

The IP address either will have a finite life or be leased forever.

Having IPs w/a finite life allows networks to add and drop devices as
the situation changes. Like in a coffee shop. Having leased forever
IPs allows for more dependable service like in a home where internet
appliances seldom change.

But leased forever IPs are usually associated with the MAC address of
the device. Most routers allow you to control these features using a
web page type interface. Most routers serve up web pages at the
beginning IP address of their subnet address range. For many this is
192.168.0.1.

It's interesting that you don't know about this. It opens the door to
speculation you have not entered a password to protect the router's
settings let alone enabled any of the possible wireless security
measures. Further, if you and other's around you run their wireless
networks similarly, there is no telling what network your wireless
appliances may be connected to. You my be enjoying browsing the web on
your neighbours network thinking you have a perfectly good connection to
the Internet. However their network does not contain your SqueezeCenter
server.

I would suggest unplugging your wireless router until you have time to
properly configure it and the wireless appliances you are using. It is
currently a security risk. At the very least make sure your computers
are running with some sort of protection.

Turning on wireless security not only provides protection, but also
forces your wireless appliances to use the intended wireless network.

---

This all may appear a bit much but I think it is necessary to protect
your computers. Also, in my opinion, it is easier then turning on
SqueezeCenter's debugging... which works like: There are several dozen
events which can occur inside the SqueezeCenter PERL program that may be
of interest to a developers. And to a lesser degree to end users.
Using the web page interface to SqueezeCenter, the user can enable
logging should one of these events occur. If you pick to log all events
by checking all several dozen boxes, the log file will grow quickly to
an enormous size. Then, you would pick your way through the log trying
to find something that looks unusual. And, yes, you would have to know
what you are looking for in most cases. It helps if you know PERL and
can look through the code which produced the logged entry for reference.

---

I agree w/ Ross, I also wonder about range expanders. For instance, how
do they work? Remember, unlike, for instance, wireless speakers, a
wireless network has to work in both directions WELL! I assume the
optimal location for the extender is equal distant between the router
and the SB. This might be tricky as going through a floor might be the
same as adding the width of a room.

I had a similar problem but chose to relocate my wireless router to the
centre of the house. I believe this also adds security as the signal
evenly grows weaker at the perimeter of the house.

....good luck