PDA

View Full Version : Cannot find iTunes music with SC7.2

agentsmith
2008-10-03, 09:41
I am an iTunes newbie so please excuse if this is basic.

I just did a greenfield install of SC7.2 on a Vista PC with iTunes 8. My music is located in a mapped LAN drive.

When I did the install, SqueezeCenter complained that it could not find the iTunes library, so I tried to locate the library and it is loated in my local drive "C:\USERS\USERNAME\MUSIC\IPOD NAME\itunes" in a file called "itunes library.xml" of size ~8MB. So I put in the full path and did a full rescan.

The scan comes back in seconds and found 0 artists and 0 songs.

I also notice that in the root directory of my mapped music drive that there is a file called "library.xml", I tried both the drive "e.g. M:\" and the UNC path, both failed to find anything.

How and where can I find the iTunes library and convince SC to absorb it?

agentsmith
2008-10-03, 10:21
I put in the full path plus the name of the file. I think it is scanning fine now.

Sorry for newbie question.

agentsmith
2008-10-03, 10:40
I thought it was scanning fine but after the scan when I browse there is only a handful of artists, albums and songs.

From the scan log, it reads:

iTunes Import (4655 of 4655) Complete 00:00:44
iTunes Playlist Import (16 of 16) Complete 00:00:02
Movies
Merge Various Artists (13 of 13) Complete 00:00:00
Artwork Scan (17 of 17) Complete 00:00:08
Database Optimize (0 of ) Complete 00:00:05
SqueezeCenter has finished scanning your music collection. Total Time: 00:00:59

Well the 4655 number sounds like the number of songs which seems right. But the number of artists and artworks are all wrong.

I think I am scanning the real library XML file, when I add some songs to iTunes, the time stamp and file size changes accordingly.

Any ideas?

mvalera
2008-10-03, 12:36
Please contact support, they will be happy to help you with your situation.

http://slimdevices.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/slimdevices.cfg/php/enduser/ask.php