PDA

View Full Version : Do I need anything other than a Squeezebox receiver?

neoshmengi
2008-07-20, 09:28
I would like to stream MP3's to my stereo. I would like to get a Synology 207+ (with SSODS) and a Squeezebox receiver. Would I need any other hardware?

Thanks

jh901
2008-07-20, 11:54
You will also need a computer and wireless router, but I bet you have that covered. I use a NetGear ReadyNAS because the SqueezeCenter (SC) software is "supported" by SlimDevices. So basically I rip my CDs using dBpoweramp into flac and it saves the files to the NAS where the SC software sits. Run the SC rescan tool for any new rips and then playback is ready to go for either of my 2 listening zones. I assume you are getting either the Duet or the "classic".......best of luck!

(I'm a noob, so hopefully someone else will kick in some of the finer details.)

I would like to stream MP3's to my stereo. I would like to get a Synology 207+ (with SSODS) and a Squeezebox receiver. Would I need any other hardware?

Thanks

neoshmengi
2008-07-20, 12:48
I have a computer and the router already ;-) .

There is a product called the 'Squeezebox Receiver' that looks to me like the duet without the remote control. That's why I'm wondering if the receiver is all I will need. As cool as the remote is, I want to control everything with a laptop so I won't need the duet. I won't need the LED display so I don't want the classic.

jh901
2008-07-20, 13:15
Uh-oh. Well, I believe the controller is necessary in order to perform the set-up. And using SC to control everything is nowhere near as sweet and fast as the controller.

I'm pretty sure your only choices are Duet OR SB Classic. I have one Controller and 2 receivers and I love it.