PDA

View Full Version : Help differentiating between lossy and lossless

Kellen
2008-04-11, 06:37
Hi, I am new to this game and am starting the process of ripping, tagging and organizing my digital library for use with a SB3 and a Duet both running on Squeezecenter.

I've read around a bunch but I am not quite certain how to go about accomplishing what it is I'd like to do. Here's what I'd like my setup to be and hence do:

Have separate folders that house my lossless and lossy files and which allows my SB3/Duet the ability to selectively choose to play "only" one type or the other during a listening session. IOW, if I choose to have a "serious" listening session and only want my lossless files to be accessible and displayed during that session, how is this best done ?

Thanks

aubuti
2008-04-11, 06:56
I would set up a directory tree with a top level directory called "music", and sub-directories called "lossless" and "lossy". Or "flac" and "mp3", or whatever, you get the picture. So you would have this:

/music/lossless/<artists>/<albums>/
/music/lossy/<artists>/<albums>/

For your serious listening sessions, you could point squeezecenter to /music/lossless as your library (specified in settings), and when you want all your music available, you could point SC to /music. Note that when you change the music library location, you'll need to do a full clear and rescan of the music library, which can be an annoyance if you have a large library and/or a slow server. Also, note that if you have both lossless and lossy copies of a track (e.g., one for home and one for a mobile player), then pointing SC to /music will show both copies of that track.

A different approach would be to use SC's capacity for multiple genres, and add "lossless" genre tags as appropriate, and then when you're feeling serious, start by browsing by genre, looking only in the "lossless" genre.

You might also consider Erland's Multi Library plugin.

Pale Blue Ego
2008-04-11, 09:33