PDA

View Full Version : SC Wizard only works with Default skin?



Mark Miksis
2007-10-24, 11:33
I've been testing the oldprefs migration process to see how it works with my new RPM. The migration process works great, but it revealed a problem: If the user has selected an alternate skin in 6.5.x, that skin pref is migrated to SC. This raises two issues:
- I wonder how many users will upgrade and never notice the shiny new Default skin
- More importantly, the wizard just yields a blank page in any skin other than Default

If I modify the URL to point to the Default skin, everything works and it reverts to the other skin pref when complete.

mherger
2007-10-24, 14:35
> - I wonder how many users will upgrade and never notice the shiny new
> Default skin

Ha! Right. We must force them to use Default. After all I've spent a few
hours on it :-).

> - More importantly, the wizard just yields a blank page in any skin
> other than Default

That must be another issue. As there's no wizard.html defined in the other
skins, it should always load the same template. In fact it's not even part
of Default, but in EN only.

> If I modify the URL to point to the Default skin, everything works and
> it reverts to the other skin pref when complete.

That's odd. Did you overwrite the skin
(/Handheld/settings/server/wizard.html) or was it the the skin set before
the update? Do you see JS errors?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

Mark Miksis
2007-10-24, 14:52
Hi Michael,

I installed 6.5.4 via RPM on a clean linux system and then changed a few prefs, including changing the skin to Fishbone. I then upgraded to my SC7 RPM and the oldprefs code properly found my old prefs file and imported everything. When I go to http://myserver:9000/ and get redirected to http://myserver:9000/settings/server/wizard.html I get a blank screen. If I edit the URL and go to http://myserver:9000/Default/settings/server/wizard.html, the wizard runs properly in Default and when I finish http://myserver:9000/ is still Fishbone.

The following seems to fix it, but I agree with your other comment. I would prefer to change Prefs.pm to not import the previous skin setting and just use Default.


Index: Home.pm
================================================== =================
--- Home.pm (revision 14069)
+++ Home.pm (working copy)
@@ -43,7 +43,7 @@
# redirect to the setup wizard if it has never been run before
if (!$prefs->get('wizardDone')) {
$response->code(RC_MOVED_TEMPORARILY);
- $response->header('Location' => '/settings/server/wizard.html');
+ $response->header('Location' => '/Default/settings/server/wizard.html');
return Slim::Web::HTTP::filltemplatefile($template, $params);
}

mherger
2007-10-24, 15:08
> The following seems to fix it, but I agree with your other comment. I
> would prefer to change Prefs.pm to not import the previous skin setting
> and just use Default.

This doesn't make sense... But I'll have to test, to know better. I
probably have some relative path somewhere. But as the wizard isn't
Default, but EN, it still doesn't make sense :-).

And you didn't see a javascript error?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

Mark Miksis
2007-10-24, 15:15
Maybe I'm not explaining it properly...

Anyway, if you want to test, you should be able to recreate it by:
- stop SqueezeCenter
- edit server.prefs to some skin other than Default
- edit server.prefs to wizardDone: 0
- start SC
- go to myserver:9000

and no, I don't get a JS error unless it's in some hidden place in FF

kdf
2007-10-24, 16:49
the problem is this:
[16:44:46.0522] Slim::Web::HTTP::_generateContentFromFile (2199) Error: file error - jsString: not found

What that is indicating, I assume, is that not all components of the pages are available in EN. Some still linger in Default only.

I think I have the required patch...will deal with it shortly.

mherger
2007-10-24, 22:24
> the problem is this:
> [16:44:46.0522] Slim::Web::HTTP::_generateContentFromFile (2199) Error:
> file error - jsString: not found

Ah... those recent changes... will have this fixed for tonight's build.
Thanks!

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

mherger
2007-10-24, 23:56
> Ah... those recent changes... will have this fixed for tonight's build.

Well, you've beaten me to it by hours :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

Mark Miksis
2007-10-25, 08:07
I can confirm Kevin's fix resolves the issue. Sorry I missed that JS error message... I still wonder whether the oldprefs import process should ignore the skin setting. I may open an enhancement request in bugzilla for discussion.

mherger
2007-10-25, 08:19
> I can confirm Kevin's fix resolves the issue. Sorry I missed that JS

Don't worry, it's not JS, but a TT error (server side).


Michael

oreillymj
2007-10-25, 12:55
Just out of interest. For people upgrading from and older server version, why do you need them to go through the Wizard?

What do they gain? They have already specified all the setting you collect bar the SqueezeNetwork login info.

I can understand the logic of having the wizard for new users.

mherger
2007-10-26, 01:33
> What do they gain? They have already specified all the setting you
> collect bar the SqueezeNetwork login info.

The SqueezeNetwork setting (synchronization of player settings, services like Pandora, Rhapsody etc.) is new, isn't it?

Michael