PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here with question before buying multiple squeezeboxes

Blue_Joe
2007-08-15, 09:34
Hi All!!!

Quick question, I've been reading through this section trying to find an answer and only found a partial answer so far so thought I would ask!

I want to set up a multiroom music system that runs off the music on my PC which resides in the office upstairs so I need to give 3 rooms access to it that are all downstairs!

Lounge - I have a full system of seperates and big sound setup which I was going to attach a squeezebox to.

Sitting Room - In here just want to use a squeezebox and use Harman Kardon Soundsticks (smallish room)

Kitchen - Similar type setup to sitting room.

Now heres the questions:

1) I have read that I can syncronize all the squeezeboxes so they all play the same music, however can this be switched on and off from one of the squeezeboxes so I don't have to run upstairs to the PC?

2) Can I select 2 to be sync'd and one playing independantly at the squeezeboxes?

3) Can I select what music is played on all 3 devices simultaniously from one of the squeezeboxes? As well as what is played individually via each box?

Basically I dont want to have to run upstairs everytime I want to change how I listen to the music?

Thanks in advance for your help!!!

Eric Seaberg
2007-08-15, 09:54
Yes, you can do all that you want without having to touch your server, or you can access the server with any computer's web browser and set them up, as well.

I've got a Transporter in the living room and an SB3 in the master bedroom, as well as softsqueeze running on the Mac G5 in my office... all being served by a Mac MINI that hides in a closet with a big drive attached. ALL can be synced together or not, or setup in pairs or not.