PDA

View Full Version : Help: can't access slimserver while running VPN.



lanierb
2007-07-31, 15:16
I just moved and with my new ISP I have to run Cisco VPN to access my work e-mail/network drives etc. However, as soon as I start up VPN my squeezeboxes can't talk to slimserver anymore. Does anyone know of a solution/work around for this? I will be running VPN on my server pretty much all the time and I really don't want to set up a whole separate computer just to run slimserver.

Thanks,

Lanier

jarome
2007-07-31, 19:29
I bet your VPN tunnel is a captive one. All your traffic will flow through the tunnel. That blocks your local network. If you are using the Cisco VPN client, there is a checkbox to allow the local LAN.

lanierb
2007-07-31, 20:32
I tried that. It does absolutely nothing. Under Status and then Statistics, it still says "Local LAN: disabled", which I think is the problem. Are there any solutions to this?

Lanier

chrisla
2007-07-31, 23:33
That policy can also be inforced at the other side, and told to ignore the
client setting. I work in IT, and that's how ours is setup. The common
concern is joining a potentially virus ridden network to the corporate
network (though in my experience most home networks are cleaner than work).

-Chris

On 7/31/07, lanierb < lanierb.2umb0c1185939302 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I tried that. It does absolutely nothing. Under Status and then
> Statistics, it still says "Local LAN: disabled", which I think is the
> problem. Are there any solutions to this?
>
> Lanier
>
>
> --
> lanierb
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> lanierb's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=5566
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=37261
>
>