PDA

View Full Version : Think System



aw4
2007-07-27, 12:17
All involved with slim devices should concentrate on making the TOTAL system robust - server, firmware and hardware. The system is not yet a comsumer product.

I'm tried of all the problems and having to unplug my Transporter.

Anoop M.
2007-07-27, 12:30
All involved with slim devices should concentrate on making the TOTAL system robust - server, firmware and hardware. The system is not yet a comsumer product.

I'm tried of all the problems and having to unplug my Transporter.

Whats the problem you are having?

aw4
2007-07-27, 13:02
My transporter and/or SB3 just locks up. The remote (and buttons on the Transporter) do not function. The devices have to be rebooted (unplugged.

This is not a wireless router problem. All other devices on my network function just fine.

Anoop M.
2007-07-27, 13:10
My transporter and/or SB3 just locks up. The remote (and buttons on the Transporter) do not function. The devices have to be rebooted (unplugged.

This is not a wireless router problem. All other devices on my network function just fine.

Have you tried your Transporter wired to rule out wireless? or are you going off the fact that all other wireless devices work in the house?

amcluesent
2007-07-27, 13:27
>My transporter and/or SB3 just locks up. The remote (and buttons on the Transporter) do not function. <

Oddness like that is, IMHO, usually down the to slimserver being starved of CPU.

aw4
2007-07-27, 13:36
Yes and wired has the same problem.

Also it is not a CPU problem. I have a 2.4GHz processor with 3 Mbytes of memory just to run the Slim Server.

Anoop M.
2007-07-27, 13:38
What version of SlimServer are you running? Do you have a different computer in the house? Does the same thing happen when you are connected to a different computer? What happens when you are connected to SqueezeNetwork?

aw4
2007-07-27, 13:41
Just to clarify -

My system is:

2.4Ghz processor, 3Mbytes memory, XP, slim Server and a 2Gbyte USB Lacie hardrive on which all my music files are stored. This is attached to a Netgear wireless router. Also attached is a Transporter and SB3.

aw4
2007-07-27, 13:42
Same thing with Squeeze network. Slim Server 6.5.3. But this has happened with older versions. I was alway told to go to the lastest version/firmware and that would solve the problme.

Anoop M.
2007-07-27, 13:43
Another thing to also try is to move some music to your local hard drive and give that a scan. Then try and see if there is any improvement. What happens when you are connected to SN?

Anoop M.
2007-07-27, 13:48
As a final test I would try taking the SB3 or Transporter to a friends network and see if you are still having troubles there.

aw4
2007-07-27, 13:49
I do not scan my music. It is organised in folders for each album. I browse to the music I want to play. I have no playlist. I do not shuffle , etc.

I have almost 2Gbytes of music files. There is no way that can be hosted on my local drive.

I want the Transporter to play the album (folder) I select withour locking up.

bpa
2007-07-27, 14:01
You try using the network & server health to check to see if there something wrong with Slimserver. The network & Server Health graphs may give a hint as to what is going on.
Follow the instructions under "Server performance"
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DiagnosingPerformanceIssues

With regard to the CPU - it is possible something (e.g. slimserver, other app, driver) is locking out the CPU. Have you looked at CPU usage with Task manager when Transporter is locked up.

Robin Bowes
2007-07-27, 14:15
aw4 wrote:
> I do not scan my music. It is organised in folders for each album. I
> browse to the music I want to play. I have no playlist. I do not
> shuffle , etc.

It is possible that slimserver is scanning in the background - it does
it automatically when you set your music folder.

Did you try a complete db wipe and rescan and then try using the
information read from the tags instead of using Browse Music Folder
(which is what I presume you're doing).

> I have almost 2Gbytes of music files. There is no way that can be
> hosted on my local drive.

I presume you mean 2Tbytes. 2Gbytes is not all that much - about 4-6
albums encoded in flac. I just put a 4GB SD card in my camera today.

>
> I want the Transporter to play the album (folder) I select withour
> locking up.

See above - trying using the interface as it's intended and see if that
makes a difference.

R.

Siduhe
2007-07-27, 14:34
Do you have any internet security software installed like McAfee or Norton? It could be a problem with the on-access scanning function not having an exception for Slimserver? This can be a particular issue with Browse Music Folder.

If so, try the following (in order): 1) add an exception in the security program for slim.exe and socketwrapper.exe (in the Slimserver music folder)

2) set the program to ignore *.myi or *.myd files

3) uninstall the security program and reinstall. A number of people have reported that this fixes problems with McAfee and Norton blocking and locking up Slimserver access (as "suspicious processes" in the way you describe.

Also, I really suggest that you should try a small test library on your hard drive. No-one is suggesting that's how you have to use it all the time, but if that works, it helps narrow down the problem to one between Slimserver and your external drive.

aw4
2007-07-28, 02:07
Correct - very big numbers always confuse me. (3Gbytes memory, 2Tbytes disk space).

Before I start to do a large number of tests I first need to know under what states & conditions the Transporter/SB3 will stop responding to the remote (and buttons on the Transporter). With that information I can then experiment to find what is causing these states/conditions to be set.

Can anyone at Logitech/Slim Devices tell me under which states and conditions a Transporter/SB3 would not respond to the remote?



Thanks


ps: This happens when I'm streaming from Squeeze network and when streaming from my had drive.

Triode
2007-07-28, 02:15
When it "locks up", if you press and hold the power button on the remote, does this cause the transporter to restart?

Pressing and holding the power button is one of the few button presses which is processed by the transporter itself - all other keypresses are sent to SlimServer on your pc/mac/whatever to be processed. So if it passes this test, the problem is more likely to be with the network or server. Assuming so, try the diagnostics from http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DiagnosingPerformanceIssues

Edit - just reread that you say it happens with SN too. Its is still valid to do the above test. If it will restart even though it has locked up on SN, then it sounds like the problem is related to the transporter talking to your network, or the network itself. What happens if you reboot the router/AP rather than transporter when this happens?

aw4
2007-07-28, 04:11
When it "locks up", if you press and hold the power button on the remote, does this cause the transporter to restart?

Pressing and holding the power button is one of the few button presses which is processed by the transporter itself - all other keypresses are sent to SlimServer on your pc/mac/whatever to be processed. So if it passes this test, the problem is more likely to be with the network or server. Assuming so, try the diagnostics from http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DiagnosingPerformanceIssues

Edit - just reread that you say it happens with SN too. Its is still valid to do the above test. If it will restart even though it has locked up on SN, then it sounds like the problem is related to the transporter talking to your network, or the network itself. What happens if you reboot the router/AP rather than transporter when this happens?

NO. The power button on the remote and the power button on the Transport do not function not matter how long you keep them depressed. It I reboot the router the Transport is still locked. I always have to unplug the Transporter to get it to function again. No other wireless devices have problems.

aw4
2007-07-28, 14:00
I've been playing music through my Transport all day. It just stopped responding to the remote, even to turn off the box.

Here is the performance data:


Server Response Time
The response time of the server - the time between successive calls to select.
< 0.002 : 258475 : 94% ##############################################
< 0.005 : 9762 : 4% #
< 0.01 : 4415 : 2%
< 0.015 : 452 : 0%
< 0.025 : 252 : 0%
< 0.05 : 1869 : 1%
< 0.1 : 226 : 0%
< 0.5 : 21 : 0%
< 1 : 2 : 0%
< 5 : 1 : 0%
>=5 : 2 : 0%
max : 25.015898
min : 0.000021
avg : 0.001135

Timer Lateness
The time between when a timer task was scheduled and when it is run.
< 0.002 : 109243 : 96% ################################################
< 0.005 : 684 : 1%
< 0.01 : 1578 : 1%
< 0.015 : 1882 : 2%
< 0.025 : 229 : 0%
< 0.05 : 93 : 0%
< 0.1 : 27 : 0%
< 0.5 : 12 : 0%
< 1 : 0 : 0%
< 5 : 9 : 0%
>=5 : 9 : 0%
max : 34.311701
min : 0.000000
avg : 0.002908


Select Task Duration
The length of time taken by each task run by select.
< 0.002 : 98153 : 96% ################################################
< 0.005 : 771 : 1%
< 0.01 : 982 : 1%
< 0.015 : 1006 : 1%
< 0.025 : 157 : 0%
< 0.05 : 33 : 0%
< 0.1 : 879 : 1%
< 0.5 : 77 : 0%
< 1 : 32 : 0%
< 5 : 2 : 0%
>=5 : 2 : 0%
max : 10.121694
min : 0.000003
avg : 0.001740

Timer Task Duration
The length of time taken by each timer task.
< 0.002 : 109949 : 97% ################################################
< 0.005 : 3531 : 3% #
< 0.01 : 226 : 0%
< 0.015 : 37 : 0%
< 0.025 : 8 : 0%
< 0.05 : 3 : 0%
< 0.1 : 6 : 0%
< 0.5 : 5 : 0%
< 1 : 1 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
>=5 : 0 : 0%
max : 0.546988
min : 0.000030
avg : 0.000742


Execute / Notification Task Duration
The length of time taken by each execute command or notification callback.
< 0.002 : 4165 : 80% #######################################
< 0.005 : 462 : 9% ####
< 0.01 : 152 : 3% #
< 0.015 : 279 : 5% ##
< 0.025 : 83 : 2%
< 0.05 : 37 : 1%
< 0.1 : 18 : 0%
< 0.5 : 11 : 0%
< 1 : 4 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
>=5 : 1 : 0%
max : 19.993591
min : 0.000010
avg : 0.007055

Warning Thresholds : Low High Backtrace
Scheduler Task Duration
The length of time taken by each scheduled task.
< 0.002 : 0 : 0%
< 0.005 : 0 : 0%
< 0.01 : 0 : 0%
< 0.015 : 0 : 0%
< 0.025 : 0 : 0%
< 0.05 : 0 : 0%
< 0.1 : 0 : 0%
< 0.5 : 0 : 0%
< 1 : 0 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
>=5 : 0 : 0%
max : 0.000000
min : 0.000000
avg : 0.000000


Database Access
The time taken for information to be retrieved from the database.
< 0.002 : 1591 : 17% ########
< 0.005 : 3500 : 38% ###################
< 0.01 : 3946 : 43% #####################
< 0.015 : 46 : 1%
< 0.025 : 40 : 0%
< 0.05 : 9 : 0%
< 0.1 : 12 : 0%
< 0.5 : 2 : 0%
< 1 : 0 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
>=5 : 1 : 0%
max : 9.986936
min : 0.000034
avg : 0.005508

Warning Thresholds : Low High Backtrace
Web Page Build
The length of time taken to build each web page.
< 0.002 : 791 : 43% #####################
< 0.005 : 1 : 0%
< 0.01 : 1 : 0%
< 0.015 : 37 : 2% #
< 0.025 : 6 : 0%
< 0.05 : 3 : 0%
< 0.1 : 879 : 48% ########################
< 0.5 : 72 : 4% #
< 1 : 32 : 2%
< 5 : 1 : 0%
>=5 : 1 : 0%
max : 10.104049
min : 0.000501
avg : 0.054814

Warning Thresholds : Low High Backtrace
Process Template
The time to process each Template Toolkit template when building web pages.
< 0.002 : 54173 : 91% #############################################
< 0.005 : 4011 : 7% ###
< 0.01 : 131 : 0%
< 0.015 : 81 : 0%
< 0.025 : 467 : 1%
< 0.05 : 581 : 1%
< 0.1 : 48 : 0%
< 0.5 : 38 : 0%
< 1 : 2 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
>=5 : 0 : 0%
max : 0.995907
min : 0.000000
avg : 0.001375


IR Queue Length
The delay between an IR key press being received and being processed.
< 0.002 : 228 : 19% #########
< 0.005 : 230 : 20% #########
< 0.01 : 328 : 28% #############
< 0.015 : 311 : 27% #############
< 0.025 : 54 : 5% ##
< 0.05 : 6 : 1%
< 0.1 : 4 : 0%
< 0.5 : 9 : 1%
< 1 : 2 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
>=5 : 0 : 0%
max : 0.587448
min : 0.000089
avg : 0.009957




Signal Strength
This graph shows the strength of the wireless signal received by your player. Higher signal strength is better. The player reports signal strength while it is playing.
< 10 : 0 : 0%
< 20 : 0 : 0%
< 30 : 0 : 0%
< 40 : 0 : 0%
< 50 : 0 : 0%
< 60 : 0 : 0%
< 70 : 12 : 0%
< 80 : 3389 : 23% ###########
< 90 : 11292 : 77% ######################################
< 100 : 31 : 0%
>=100 : 0 : 0%
max : 92.000000
min : 64.000000
avg : 81.098886


Buffer Fullness
This graph shows the fill of the player's buffer. Higher buffer fullness is better. Note the buffer is only filled while the player is playing tracks.
Squeezebox1 uses a small buffer and it is expected to stay full while playing. If this value drops to 0 it will result in audio dropouts. This is likely to be due to network problems.

Squeezebox2/3 uses a large buffer. This drains to 0 at the end of each track and then refills for the next track. You should only be concerned if the buffer fill is not high for the majority of the time a track is playing.

Playing remote streams can lead to low buffer fill as the player needs to wait for data from the remote server. This is not a cause for concern.

< 10 : 553 : 5% ##
< 20 : 24 : 0%
< 30 : 23 : 0%
< 40 : 14 : 0%
< 50 : 12 : 0%
< 60 : 17 : 0%
< 70 : 23 : 0%
< 80 : 28 : 0%
< 90 : 36 : 0%
< 100 : 10766 : 94% ##############################################
>=100 : 0 : 0%
max : 99.999968
min : 0.000000
avg : 94.401834


Control Connection
This graph shows the number of messages queued up to send to the player over the control connection. A measurement is taken every time a new message is sent to the player. Values above 1-2 indicate potential network congestion or that the player has become disconnected.
< 1 : 14214 :100% ##################################################
< 2 : 0 : 0%
< 5 : 0 : 0%
< 10 : 0 : 0%
< 20 : 0 : 0%
>=20 : 0 : 0%
max : 0.000000
min : -1.000000
avg : -0.000141

mvalera
2007-07-28, 19:00
I think your best bet is to call tech support on Monday. Anoop who was responding to you above is one of our support specialists. They will be glad to help you through your problem.

Triode
2007-07-29, 02:40
I agree with Michael - this is one for support.

The graphs you posted suggest the server is working well, there is one long pause, but all the other response times are fine.

aw4
2007-07-29, 03:00
I streamed music files to the tranporter for about 13 hours until it stopped recognising the remote.

I think it is dropping the Control Connection to the server and not reconnecting. There are no reported problems on the wireless network and all other devices are working normally.

mvalera
2007-07-30, 14:12
You really REALLY need to call tech support. You have a problem that is well out of the range of anything could be called ordinary. It also may be that you have a bad unit.

Please call them between the hours of 9AM to 7PM M-F @ +1 (650) 210-9400 extension 3.

mvalera
2007-07-30, 14:18
Before I forget to ask this as well... and I apologize if you've done this already, but have you replaced the batteries in the remote?

aw4
2007-07-31, 00:44
yes, but the buttons also do not work on the Transpoter once this happens