PDA

View Full Version : Buying A Nework Attached Storage 500GB HDD To Run Future Squeezebox From

Sunil Banga
2007-06-13, 08:30
Hi guys

I'm new to this whole malarky so please don't flame me straight away!

I'm looking to buy a Squeezebox at some point in the very near future and I'm thinking I'd be better off with a NAS and using my existing hard drive to mirror it every week (after a big scare of nearly losing everything). However, I'm not sure as to what exactly I require. I've been told elsewhere that a simple NAS will not work and that I need an "intelligent" HDD with Linux installed so it can run Slimserver software.

The only ones I have seen so far are QNAP TS-101s. However, the 500GB is at an extortionate price considering the base price of an empty TS-101.

Are there any other solutions? Will a standard NAS definately not work?

Ksie
2007-06-13, 10:22
A simple NAS will work fine if you only wish to use it for storing your music. Some NAS are able to actually run the SlimServer software, which allows you to access the stored music, via Squeezebox, without having your computer turned on. But, the "simple" NAS is fine if you want to run SlimServer on your desktop machine and just use the NAS for storage. An external HDD is another alternative for music storage, but of course has no processor and cannot actually run the SS server software.

Backing your music up is a great idea! You can have SlimServer stream from the NAS, from an external HDD, or from your desktop machine. Use one as a streaming source and one of the others for back-up.

You don't have to have Linux, SlimServer comes in a Windows and/or Mac versions as well. Most NAS boxes run on a Linux platform, but are manageable through a Windows/Apple interface. If you want to try and install SS on a NAS yourself (takes a lot of technical know-how, and is not possible with all brands), you'll have to use the Linux SS.

Check the Wiki for some more detailed technical stuff. Here's a good start: