PDA

View Full Version : Server Question

wellerfan
2007-01-22, 11:08
Hi,

I'm a Squeezebox newbie with a question on network servers. I have a very large music collection ( approx. 3,500 cds) that has grown to be too unwieldy. I'm going to upgrade to a Transporter and want to get all of my music onto a network server in Apple lossless format and then bacically use my MacBook Pro as a remote control. My question is I'm looking for a network server that can accomplish this. The Infrant Repertoir looks great, has a 3 terabyte capacity, but is rather expensive at $5,000.00. Are there any alternatives I should be looking at? Thank you very much.

The rest of my system is Arcam C31 preamp, Arcam P1 monoblock amps, Arcam DV27A cd player, and Verity X Tamino speakers.

snarlydwarf
2007-01-22, 11:42
With that many CD's, I would recommend just buying a PC of some sort (whatever you like most: MacOS, Windows or a Unix flavor). Most NAS devices really dont have the RAM or CPU to be a good database server and it is pretty cheap to put together a PC based system.

A Terabyte is no longer a huge amount 4 250G drives should fit in most cases, and 250G drives arent that spendy. Use larger drives and it is even easier to exceed a TB, but the cost/G may be higher if you get too high a density drive. The real trick is backups of that data (use external USB drives for backup -- detach them and put them somewhere safe)

wellerfan
2007-01-22, 12:08
Thanks Snarlydwarf,

Please forgive my computer ignorance, but I have a couple of questions. I actually have a 3 year old Mac Powerbook I could use as a dedicated server but it's hard drive is only 80 gig, that would necessitate an external hardrive. The biggest ones I have seen hold one terabyte vs. 3 terabytes for the Infrant Repertoire. Also, the Infrant is a network drive, couldn't I store my music on that and my newer MacBook pro just as a kind of wireless remote control.

Thank you very much.

Eric Seaberg
2007-01-22, 12:15