PDA

View Full Version : idiots guide to using whack.pl please



jamie evans
2003-11-20, 10:49
Thanks for the advice kdf. For the first time I am running perl as the
server (Well attempting to) ive installed active perl on my xp machine,
I have downloaded the whack.pl How do I run (real idiot explination
needed here sorry)
Any advice on running the perl/xp version 5 software would really come
in handy (I am brain dead)

The reason for wanting to use ver 5 and my lovlely Eudora plugin is that
when syncing my two players intermittanlty one will lose volume?! It
appears to be playing but no output? There one for you. Although when I
trie dver5 it run so mauch quicker

Cheers folks

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-20, 10:59
Quoting jamie evans <jamie._evans (AT) btopenworld (DOT) com>:

> Thanks for the advice kdf. For the first time I am running perl as the
> server (Well attempting to) ive installed active perl on my xp machine,
> I have downloaded the whack.pl How do I run (real idiot explination
> needed here sorry)

click the START button, select run..., type CMD and press enter. This will open
a command-line window. Assuming you have saved the whack.pl file to c:\program
files\Slimserver, then you would type cd "program files\slimserver\" and press
enter. to update your Eudora.pm plugin, type whack.pl Plugins\Eudora.pm and
press enter. Eudora.pm will be rewriten in the format, and the odl plugin will
now be named Eudora.pm.old.

Without knowing just where you have saved your files, I can't be more specific.
If you already know how to navigate through the command line, then basically
you can replace any of the paths I have used above with the proper ones for your
system.

> Any advice on running the perl/xp version 5 software would really come
> in handy (I am brain dead)

SImple way, double click on slimserver.pl then minimise the window. If you want
it as a service, use FireDaemon (www.firedaemon.com).

Good Luck!
-kdf

roy@rant-central.com
2003-11-20, 11:41
On Thu, Nov 20, 2003 at 09:59:31AM -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:

> click the START button, select run..., type CMD and press enter. This will open
> a command-line window. Assuming you have saved the whack.pl file to c:\program
> files\Slimserver, then you would type cd "program files\slimserver\" and press
> enter. to update your Eudora.pm plugin, type whack.pl Plugins\Eudora.pm and
> press enter. Eudora.pm will be rewriten in the format, and the odl plugin will
> now be named Eudora.pm.old.

That's a WinBox, so he needs to type 'perl whack.pl Plugins\Eudora.pm'.
The poor excuse for a command shell that ships with Windows doesn't
understand arbitrary executable files.
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
http://www.rant-central.com is the new scytale
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-11-20, 12:00
Quoting roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com:

> On Thu, Nov 20, 2003 at 09:59:31AM -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:
>
> > click the START button, select run..., type CMD and press enter. This will
> open
> > a command-line window. Assuming you have saved the whack.pl file to
> c:\program
> > files\Slimserver, then you would type cd "program files\slimserver\" and
> press
> > enter. to update your Eudora.pm plugin, type whack.pl Plugins\Eudora.pm
> and
> > press enter. Eudora.pm will be rewriten in the format, and the odl plugin
> will
> > now be named Eudora.pm.old.
>
> That's a WinBox, so he needs to type 'perl whack.pl Plugins\Eudora.pm'.
> The poor excuse for a command shell that ships with Windows doesn't
> understand arbitrary executable files.
really?? I am running a win2k box at work, and I run slimserver by typing
slimserver.pl at the prompt. as usual...mileage may vary I guess :)
-kdf

roy@rant-central.com
2003-11-20, 12:30
On Thu, Nov 20, 2003 at 11:00:00AM -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:
> Quoting roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com:

> > The poor excuse for a command shell that ships with Windows doesn't
> > understand arbitrary executable files.
> really?? I am running a win2k box at work, and I run slimserver by typing
> slimserver.pl at the prompt. as usual...mileage may vary I guess :)

Begging your pardon. I quite forgot that the command shell in 2K+ has
improved a bit, and the ActivePerl association works from a command
line. I've just been a 4dos/4NT bigot for too long, I guess. :) The
only time I use cmd.exe is to run PPM. (and usually I use CPAN instead)
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
http://www.rant-central.com is the new scytale
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss