PDA

View Full Version : using a wireless pda to control slim server



Builder Brad
2006-05-10, 11:23
I have got an Hp Ipaq laying around spare with a wifi card and would like to use it to control the slimserver software. The O/S on the Ipaq is Windows CE 4.2

I do not currently have a wireless network and both of the squeezeboxes in my network are hard wired, although one of the is wireless. I wondered if it was possible to use the wireless squeezebox as a wifi hub? or will I need to fit a wireless card into my main pc?

does anyone have any experience with this, do you just use internet explorer on the pda to browse to slimserver?

Brad

Mark Lanctot
2006-05-10, 11:32
You cannot use a wireless Squeezebox as a Wireless Access Point (WAP). It can be used as a bridge, but that won't help in your situation.

It would probably be best to get a cheap wireless router. They cost about the same as a wireless NIC for your PC, but they're much, much more powerful and configurable.

You could also use a WAP, but they cost about the same as a router yet have less functionality.

To control SlimServer, you can use the web page through IE but there's also SlimRemote (http://www.herger.net/slim/detail.php?nr=912&kategorie=slim) and TelCanto (http://www.telcanto.com/).

mherger
2006-05-10, 11:39
> I do not currently have a wireless network and both of the squeezeboxes
> in my network are hard wired, although one of the is wireless. I
> wondered if it was possible to use the wireless squeezebox as a wifi
> hub? or will I need to fit a wireless card into my main pc?

While you could use the wireless SB to connect a wired device to your
wireless network (bridging), you can't use it to connect a wireless device
to your wired network (access point).

> does anyone have any experience with this, do you just use internet
> explorer on the pda to browse to slimserver?

http://yourslimserver:9000/Handheld/ is a skin optimized for PDA usage.

Or use http://www.herger.net/SlimRemote instead ;-). I don't know about
performance on your device, but it should work.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Builder Brad
2006-05-10, 11:53
Mark, Michael,

Thank you,

this is very helpfull information.

Michael,

one of your links does not seem to work? its the link to the pda skin software

your "slim" slimserver looks very interesting.

my pda is an Hp ipaq h1940 pocket pc with a Samsung s3c22410 processor and 32mb of ROM and 64mb of RAM. I was given this pda a couple of yars ago and have never got round to trying anything with it. Do you think it will be ok to with your software ect.?

mherger
2006-05-10, 12:09
> one of your links does not seem to work? its the link to the pda skin
> software

I guess it's the first link, right? No, that should be the address you
should open in your PDA's browser (or on the desktop). Replace
"yourslimserver" with your server's name or IP address.

> my pda is an Hp ipaq h1940 pocket pc with a Samsung s3c22410 processor
> and 32mb of ROM and 64mb of RAM. I was given this pda a couple of yars
> ago and have never got round to trying anything with it. Do you think
> it will be ok to with your software ect.?

As I mentioned I can't say for sure. There's a thread mentioning a Samsung
CPU:

http://www.ewesoft.com/cgi-local/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1114610088/0#0

But there's ony 2 less. You might give it a try. Download the Ewe runtime
and test the demo app that come with it.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

ntom
2006-05-10, 14:49
I use Michael's Slimremote software on an Ipaq 2210 in which I have installed a wifi cf card to connect to my wireless network. It works great with SB control with artwork etc..

It was apain in the a** getting the Ipaq to talk to the network initially (..nothing to do with SB or Slimremote -just networking probs).